fr | en | de
Facebook RSS
Increase text size Increase text size

Les Mosses Church

Built in response to both a desire and a need, the Les Mosses church saw the first light of day in 1911. Constructed almost entirely of wood with a roof of thin wooden slats, the church is « Heimatstil » in style - typical Swiss architecture. Today it’s not only used for church services but also for concerts.

The distance that had to be covered in order to get to church in the last decades of the 19th century gave rise for the call to establish a church in the Les Mosses region. Generous donations along with a financial injection from the State finally made this happen. And that’s how the Les Mosses church came to be.

Realised by local craftsmen, the church is principally made of wood. The entrance to the sanctuary passes through a glass porchway in the south-east of the building. The existance of two doors side by side is explained by the fact that the church was designed to have a movable partitioning wall, a device to break up the interior volume and so economise on heating. The church roof comprises thin round overlapping wooden tiles « little planks » individually hand-made to completely cover the wooden structure.

Today the Ormonts parish holds regular church services but as it is highly appreciated for its acoustic qualities, the church also allows concerts to be performed there.

Geographic situation

Zoom map


Eglise des Mosses
1862 Les Mosses
Phone +41 (0)24 491 14 77
Mob. +41 (0)79 744 52 85



Regional nature Park

The regional nature park Gruyère Pays-d'Enhaut illustrates the natural lushness and the agropastoral culture of the Pre-Alps.
» Informations…


Hiking Tour

7 nights and 5 days of Hiking. Discover the package proposed by the Hotel Le Relais Alpin.
 Package - hiking tours difficult (232 KB)
 Package - hiking tours easy (167 KB)



Magic Pass

C’est magique, 25 stations se regroupent en coopérative pour offrir un abonnement de saison unique à

» More…

The flea market season is upon us!

The Col des Mosses Bric-a-Brac fair will start on Sunday 11 of June once again and is sure to deligh

» More…



La Lécherette


» More…

Les Mosses

Ball and tug of war

» More…

Le Sépey

Village fête

» More…

Online Reservation


The Tourist Office is open during the following times - End of the winter season :
From 3. to 17. April 2017 and from 29. May to 18. September 2017 : Mo-Fr 8h-12h and 13h30-17h30 / Sa-Su 9h-14h
 From 18. April to 28. May 2017: Mo-Fr 8h-12h and 13h30-17h30 / Sa-Su geschlossen
Bank holidays : 9h-14h

Office du Tourisme Les Mosses - La Lécherette, Route du Col des Mosses 106, 1862 Les Mosses, Suisse - Tél. +41 (0)24 491 14 66 - Fax +41 (0)24 491 10 24 - info@lesmosses.ch
Association Touristique Aigle-Leysin-Col des Mosses, Réalisation MySwitzerland & DidWeDo*